Nethis/Fiocruz and ISAGS discuss joint activities

Notícia publicada em:

  • 9 de Junho de 2017

Cecília Lopes (Nethis/Fiocruz), Felix Rigoli (ISAGS), José Paranaguá de Santana (Nethis/Fiocruz) and Roberta de Freitas (Nethis/Fiocruz). Photo: Sérgio Velho (UNA-SUS)

The holding of sessions of the Cycle of Debates on Bioethics, Diplomacy and Public Health to countries of Unasur (Union of South American Nations) was one of the themes of the meeting between the Adviser to the South American Institute of Government in Health (ISAGS) Felix Rigoli and the Coordinator of the Center for Bioethics and Diplomacy Studies in Health (Nethis/Fiocruz), José Paranaguá de Santana. The meetings occurred on June 5th and 6th, at Fiocruz Brasília.

“Our intention is to share with Unasur countries the reflection on the concepts of development, inequality and cooperation worked by Nethis”, said Paranaguá. The idea is to start the activities in the second half of 2017 and to provide continuity in 2018.

Another possibility discussed during the meeting is to perform a distance training, as a course of short duration, certified by Fiocruz School of Government. Rigoli, who is a specialist in the area of Health Systems and Services at Isags, will present the proposal for the evaluation of the Executive Director of the Institute, Carina Vance.

ISAGS – the South American Institute of Government in Health is an intergovernmental body of public character linked to the Health Council of the Union of South American Nations (Unasur). As a center of higher studies and debate of public policies, its actions contribute to the development of governance and leadership in health in South American countries.

Created by the Council of Heads of State and Government of Unasur, at the suggestion of South American Health Council, in April 2010, ISAGS is the result of the political agreement reached by the countries of the region recognizing health as a bridge for peace and the development of peoples. Unasur is a block that brings together South American countries: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay and Venezuela.

Source: Isags.